Thursday, December 19, 2019

#

Feather by Olivia Wildenstein - Book Tour & Review + Giveaway



Feather

Olivia Wildenstein
Publication date: January 16th 2020
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance

It was supposed to be a quick mission. The only thing quick about it was how rapidly I failed.
With only a month left to earn her missing feathers, nineteen-year-old Leigh embarks on a trip to Paris to meet her newest project, twenty-five-year-old Jarod Adler, leader of the Parisian Mafia and the worst kind of sinner . . . a Triple.
If Leigh can get Jarod to accomplish a single act of kindness, she stands to win 100 feathers, more than enough to complete her wings and ascend to Elysium, the land of angels.
What she doesn’t count on is Jarod’s dark charm costing her feathers.
She’s dead set on saving him, and he’s dead set on destroying her.
Until he realizes destroying her wings is also destroying her heart.
A heart he longs to hear beat only for him.
A modern ROMEO & JULIET retelling featuring an epic sinner and the angel who’ll stop at nothing to save him. Perfect for fans of NALINI SINGH and BECCA FITZPATRICK.


My Review
What can I say about Feather? It's really, really good. And I'm so mad that I have to wait for the next book.
Feather tells the story of Leigh, a Fletchling angel who decides to take on the task of reforming Jarod, the head of the mafia in Paris. All she has to do is convince him that doing good is, well, a good thing. How hard can it be? And if she succeeds, she'll ascend and be a full-fledged angel. Huzzah! Too bad Jarod isn't keen on changing his ways. What happens when Leigh's stubbornness and determination meets Jarod's devious ways? You'll have to read it to find out!
I honestly think my favorite character in this story was Muriel. While I loved Leigh and Jarod and was rooting for them, Muriel was the real star of this book. She was a bad-ass woman who loved hard. She was awesome. I also really liked Celeste too. She was like one of those younger sisters who might frustrate you at times but ends up being a best friend.
Plot-wise, Feather sucked me right in. I love stories about angels, and I was curious to see how this one played out. I can't say I was disappointed. Leigh has a nice character arc, where she starts off a bit shallow and naive, but by the end, she's come a long way and realizes who she is as a person/angel.
Jarod also has a really good character arc. He starts off as a total douche, but he starts to see things in a different light as he spends more time with Leigh. I really liked that about him.
The world-building (for the angel aspect of the story) was also pretty great. Very vivid and bright.
Overall, I have to say Feather is a fantastic start to a new series, and I'm eagerly looking forward to the next book. Can't wait to see how the story continues!
4.5 stars!

Author Bio:
USA TODAY bestselling author Olivia Wildenstein grew up in New York City, the daughter of a French father with a great sense of humor, and a Swedish mother whom she speaks to at least three times a day. She chose Brown University to complete her undergraduate studies and earned a bachelor’s in comparative literature. After designing jewelry for a few years, Wildenstein traded in her tools for a laptop computer and a very comfortable chair. This line of work made more sense, considering her college degree

XBTBanner1

2 comments:

  1. Great review! This sounds really compelling and well written- and the character development sounds very well done too! Glad you liked it! :)

    ReplyDelete