Thursday, April 23, 2020

#

Every Little Secret by Ruby Speechley - Book Tour & Review



Every Little Secret
How well do you know the man you married?

Maddy Saunders’ life is unravelling. After the heartbreaking, unexpected death of 5-year-old daughter Chloe, she’s trying desperately to keep her family together for other daughter, Emily. But when the police inform her that husband Max is missing, the rucksack found at the bottom of a local canal leading them to believe he has taken his own life, her grief takes a new and sharper turn.
Unable to believe that Max would abandon her and Emily, Maddy desperately searches for clues as to what has happened to her husband. But as she delves deeper into his secrets, Maddy finds a web of betrayal that forces her to re-examine everything about the life they have built together.
Maddened by grief, and forced into untangling Max’s lies, Maddy will stop at nothing to uncover the truth – even if it destroys her in the process.
A gripping, absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller that will have you hooked – perfect for fans of K.L. Slater, Shalini Boland and B.A. Paris.

Purchase Links:

My Review
Every Little Secret is a psychological thriller that will keep readers on their toes, trying to unravel the mystery that's unfolding before their very eyes. 
The story starts with Max, husband and loving father, falling off a bridge into the water below. When the police inform his already grieving wife (Maddy) and daughter (Emily), who are mourning the loss of Chloe, the other daughter/younger sister, that he's missing, presumed dead, it all becomes too much for Maddy to bear. She doesn't believe Max would just up and disappear on her. Not after the death of his daughter. And not knowing Maddy was pregnant with his third child. So she delves into his things, determined to find something, anything, that will help her uncover the truth of what might have happened to him. Unfortunately for her, she finds more than she ever could have bargained for. And it sends her spiraling down a dark rabbit hole of secrets and lies; one she may never return from.
I have to say, I absolutely hated everyone in this book. Except maybe Jamie and Emily, and Sarah (Maddy's neighbor and friend). At first, Max and Maddy seem like they have a good life, even with the loss of their daughter. But things aren't as picture-perfect as they seem, and when Maddy starts discovering more and more about Max and his secrets, she starts to lose control. The things she does are petty, ridiculous, spiteful, and downright mean. But that's not the worst of it. Closer to the end, she becomes completely unhinged, and I absolutely hated her. 
Max isn't much better. He's got so many secrets. He's been lying to Maddy for years. And he's a bit of a coward about everything. He's weak and foolish, and I didn't like him either.
And Ali... ugh. She's a shallow, self-absorbed, materialistic snob. She barely takes care of her house or her dog, and her son Jamie is left to his own devices for the most part. Ali doesn't seem super interested in parenting him properly. She annoyed me so much.
But even with my extreme dislike of almost all of the characters, the story is really well-written. It does get slow in a few spots, but I just pushed through them eager to try and figure out what was really going on, and curious to see how it would all play out. I wasn't disappointed.
If you're a fan of psychological thrillers with a bit of mystery and suspense, give Every Little Secret a go. It's worth the read.
4 stars!

Author Bio
Ruby Speechley is a psychological thriller writer. Her debut novel, Someone Else’s Baby, was published by Hera Books on 25 July 2019. 


Social Media Links –



No comments:

Post a Comment