Wednesday, June 24, 2020

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Deadly Curious by Cindy Anstey - Book Tour & Review + Giveaway



Deadly Curious
Cindy Anstey
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: June 23rd 2020
Genres: Historical Romance, Young Adult

A twisty tale reminiscent of Jane Austen—with a dash of murder—Cindy Anstey’s Deadly Curious is perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Agatha Christie.

Some secrets are better left buried…

1834. Sophia Thompson wants nothing more than to be one of the famed Bow Street Runners, London’s most elite corps of detectives. Never mind that a woman has never before joined their ranks—and certainly never mind that her reclusive family has forbidden her from pursuing such an unladylike goal.

She gets the chance to prove her capabilities when an urgent letter arrives from her frantic cousin Daphne, begging Sophia to come look into the suspicious death of Daphne’s brother.
As Sophia begins to unravel the tangled threads of the case—with the help of a charming young policeman—she soon realizes that the murderer may be even closer to her family than she ever suspected.

My Review
Deadly Curious is a pretty simple, straightforward murder mystery set in 1834. Sophia is a young woman who wants nothing more than to become a Bow Street Runner. Unfortunately, her being female is the main thing standing in her way. When her cousin writes to her about the odd goings-on at their estate, Sophia knows this is her chance to prove herself. But someone is out to stop Sophia and her cousin from ever finding the truth, through whatever means necessary.
I thought the book was a relatively decent read. It was a little slow in spots, but closer to the end, it really picked up, and I was curious to see if Sophia (and Jeremy) would solve the mystery. I had it figured out probably around the 30-35% mark of the story, and the rest of the time, I was internally screaming at the characters to stop being so naive and figure things out. 
The characters are written well, but they all annoyed me to no end. I can't say I really connected with or cared for any of them.
I do think the cover is pretty stunning, though, and it was one of the things that drew me in. And while I thought the book was okay, it didn't thrill me as much as I would have liked. 
If you're a fan of historical mysteries, give Deadly Curious a whirl.
3.5 stars from me. 


Author Bio:
Whenever she is not sitting at the computer, throwing a ball in the backyard, gardening or reading, Cindy can be found–actually, not found–adventuring around the world with her hubby.
She has lived on three continents, had a monkey in her yard and a scorpion under her sink, dwelt among castles and canals, enjoyed the jazz of Beale St and attempted to speak French.
Cindy loves history, mystery and… a chocolate Labrador called Chester.

XBTBanner1
Share:

0 comments:

Post a Comment