Thursday, June 11, 2020

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Book of Us by Andrea Michael - Book Tour & Review



The Book of Us
The Book of Us is a story of the complexity of forgiveness and the friendships that change our lives forever. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.
We’ve got some important things to talk about. It’s time.
Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university. But then one night changed everything.
Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. Loll had believed she would have her whole life to come to terms with Cass’ betrayal, but time is running out. Cass’ final wish is to complete The Big Book of Our Life, but has enough time passed to heal old wounds?
Purchase Links

My Review
The Book of Us is an emotional read that will hit you right in the heart and turn you into a weeping mess. If you're anything like me, of course. 
The story follows Lauren (aka Loll) and Cass, two friends who found each other at university but had a falling out after the ultimate betrayal. Years later, they reconnect after Lauren discovers Cass is dying. All Cass wants is to complete their 'Book of Us' before her time is up. Can Lauren find it in her heart to forgive Cass?
I'll admit, the book was a little slow in spots, but overall, it's a powerful, emotional read that tugs on the heartstrings. I found myself bursting into tears in the most random spots, but I think, as a parent, the places that really got to me made sense. Cass has a daughter, and her daughter knows her mother will be leaving the mortal coil, but she's not ready to lose her. It's definitely tough to make it through those scenes without tearing up. Also, a friend from high school recently lost her battle with cancer and left behind her two young sons, so thinking about her while reading this book made it even more sad to me. 
The Book of Us takes Cass, Lauren, and Vee from England to Finland, from Finland to Spain, and from Spain to Australia. It's sweet. It's beautiful. It's heartwarming. But underneath all of that is a sense of melancholy and regret. 
If you're a reader looking for something to make you cry, this is the book to do that.
4 stars!


Author Bio –
Andrea Michael writes books to explore complicated relationships. Having trained in using writing for therapy, she really believes in the magic of stories to change your life. Failing that, sparkling wine and obnoxious sing-a-longs also do the trick.

Andrea works in content marketing, and runs Writing for Wellbeing workshops. She lives in Hertfordshire with her fiancé and their crazy cat, and can be found reading in a comfy corner or digging something at the allotment.

You may also know her from her romantic comedies written as A L Michael.


Andrea is represented by Hayley Steed at Madeleine Milburn. The Book of Us is her thirteenth book. She's hoping it's lucky.

Social Media Links –
Twitter @almichael_


Share:

0 comments:

Post a Comment