Thursday, August 6, 2020

#

Life Lessons by J.E. Rowney - Book Blitz



Life Lessons
For fans of "Call the Midwife", "Hard Pushed" or "This is Going to Hurt".

Life Lessons is a new adult chick-lit medical drama, with splashes of clean romance.
Expect an unputdownable emotional page-turner that will take you deep into the life lessons of a student midwife.

Violet wants to be a midwife, but she has struggled with anxiety throughout her teenage years.


With her best friend Zoe at her side, she gets a place at University and starts training for her dream job.

Can she overcome her fears and find the self-confidence to make it through her first year?

Will Zoe's romance with their housemate spell dating disaster?

Book one of the Lessons of a Student Midwife series.

This book is a prequel to Ghosted, the bestselling novel.


Author Q&A

1.       What would you consider to be your Kryptonite as an author?
I used to get very distracted, and it took me a long time to write anything because I didn’t set myself goals. It took me seven years to write my second book. The internet is a great place to connect with readers, and with other writers, but it can also be a massive time drain. I am a lot more disciplined these days, fortunately.

2. If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?
I always wanted to be a writer, but I convinced myself that writing was a hobby, not a career. Instead of becoming a novelist at an early age, I trained as a midwife. Without having had that experience, I would never have written “Ghosted” and “Life Lessons”. Although I would love to tell younger me to go ahead and write, I would also tell her that everything she learns will be useful. Actually, I would tell her to keep a notebook of all of those things that she learns!

3. What book do you feel is under-appreciated? How about overrated?
Every now and again I see people discussing books that they have read and loved that I have read and disliked. There have been a couple of stand-outs over the past year, but I won’t name and shame. I really enjoy reading a wide range of genres, and I feel that in itself is under-appreciated. People find books or types of books that they love and then don’t step outside of their comfort zones. I would love to encourage people to try something new, and surprise themselves.

4. Favorite childhood memory involving books?
I loved reading when I was younger, just as I do now. I read everything I could at school, and then I tried to find more books to read at home. I used to go to the second hand market with my grandmother and pick up collections of horror stories. Bearing in mind that I was around nine years old, some of the content was probably a little too old for me. I didn’t give myself too many nightmares though!

5. If you had to describe yourself in three words, what would they be?
“Always looking forwards” – I am always planning something, or heading towards a future goal. I have so much that I want to achieve.

6. What is your most unusual writing quirk?
I don’t know if it is a quirk or not, because maybe it is something that other authors do too. When I am writing my first draft, in order to keep moving, and let my words flow, if I can’t think of exactly the word or phrase that I want to use at that time, I type in xxxx and move on. It has stopped me from getting ‘writers block’ and it allows me to keep writing, even when I don’t know at the time how a certain sentence might look in the final draft. The little things make sense on later drafts, and those xxxxs get replaced by exactly the right words or phrases.

7. What’s one movie you like recommending to others?
Currently it’s “Never Let Me Go”. I read the book a couple of months ago and I loved it so much that I immediately watched the movie version to see how it had been adapted. To be honest, I didn’t want to say goodbye to the characters after the end of the book, and watching the film was a way of holding on to them. It’s a great story, and the film version is good too.

8. Have you ever met anyone famous?
I recently met the poet laureate, Simon Armitage, after a reading of his work. He used to live in the same village as I did in West Yorkshire, about a mile away from my home, but I never saw him around. Six years and three hundred or so miles later, we met in Dorset. He was very lovely.

10. How do you select the names of your characters?The names of most of my characters come to me as I am writing. I did name one of the minor characters in “Life Lessons” after one of my own midwifery tutors though. I had a personal tutor called Zita, and sadly she passed away a few years ago. I remember how lovely and supportive she was to me when I was a student midwife, and using her forename in my book was my way of recognising that. The character isn’t based upon her though.
11. If you were the last person on Earth, what would you do?I would have a lot more time to read.
12. What fictional character would you want to be friends with in real life?I would love to be part of the classics class in “The Secret History”. It’s my favourite book, and the characters are all so interesting. I would probably get caught up in something wild and dangerous, sure, but it would be worth it to meet them.
13. Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?If you want to be a writer, write. That’s how it begins. Grab a pen and paper, or sit at your computer, and write. Writing is the best way to learn. Practice as often as you can. Share your work with friends and family, or with a writing group. Get feedback, and listen to it. Always try to learn and improve.



Author Bio –
J.E.Rowney spent several years in the cold Yorkshire hills, which brings the flavour of the moorland countryside into her work. She now lives in Dorset, and the sun and sea are slowly creeping in as influences.

"Charcoal", her first novel, was published in 2012 to wide critical acclaim, and was a bestselling novel across the whole of Amazon within days of release.


Ms Rowney has recently been awarded the Dinesh Allirajah Writing Prize 2020.

Her third novel, "Ghosted", was released in January 2020 and quickly also became a bestseller.


She spends lots of time writing in coffee shops, so if you see her, say hello.

Ms. Rowney says: "I always dreamed of being a writer, until I realised that I was. Then I started to write."

You can find out more about JE Rowney on her website at jerowney.com, or follow @jerowneywriter on social media.



Social Media Links –


No comments:

Post a Comment