Menu

Wednesday, August 25, 2021

Eyes of the Forest by April Henry - Book Tour + Giveaway


Eyes of the Forest
April Henry
Published by: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication date: August 24th 2021
Genres: Mystery, Young Adult

After a bestselling fantasy writer disappears, only his biggest fan believes he’s in danger. Instead of re-reading his books, she must venture into the real world to uncover the truth in this fast-paced mystery by New York Times-bestselling author April Henry. For readers of Courtney Summers and Karen McManus.

Bridget is RM Haldon’s biggest fan. She and her mom sought refuge in Haldron’s epic fantasy series Swords and Shadows while her mom was losing her battle with cancer. When Bridget met Haldon at one of his rare book signings, she impressed the author with her encyclopedic knowledge of the fantasy world he’d created. Bridget has been working for him ever since as he attempts to write the final book in his blockbuster sword and sorcery series. But Haldon has gone missing, and Bridget is the only person who seems concerned. Can Bridget piece together Haldon’s cryptic clues and save him before it’s too late?

Master mystery-writer April Henry weaves another heart-stopping young adult thriller in this story that seamlessly blends suspense with an exploration of fan culture.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

Excerpt

 Ive seen you listening to your phone in other classes.” Ajay followed her to the big metal bowl of fruit. I always thought it was music, but now Im guessing it must have been a book. So what makes it worth getting your phone taken away?”

            Inspecting an apple, Bridget tried to articulate her feelings. First of all, its not just abook. Its a book by RM Haldon. All the books in the Swords and Shadows series are amazing. Theyre filled with bravery, treachery and sacrifice.” She gestured at the florescent lights, the chipped linoleum floor, the hordes of students. This is the boring real world, where Portland, Oregon and Portland, Maine are pretty much interchangeable. But in those books, there arent any high schools or WalMarts or Taco Tuesdays.”

Hey, a lot of people like Taco Tuesdays,” Ajay objected, following Bridget to the cashier.

And in those books you can never take anything for granted.” She handed the cashier her cafeteria card. You know how if you watch a movie, theres always certain characters you dont really have to worry about?”

Like the cute five-year-old who keeps saying surprisingly wise things?” Ajay offered. But no matter how bad things get, that kid always survives the vampires or the earthquake or the serial killer or whatever.”

Exactly.” Bridget picked up her tray. In the Swords and Shadows series, a five-year-old could and maybe would die. And the reader might even have to watch.” She hesitated. Normally she sat on the edge of the cafeteria with a book, and Ajay sat in the middle, with friends.

Want to eat outside?” he said. Now that the temperature was dropping, only a few people were sitting at the concrete benches and tables.

Um, sure.” As they walked past his regular table, a couple of his friends nudged each other. He didnt seem to notice. In the far corner, Derrick Dart was peering intently at his phone.

            Outside, they found an empty table. Next to them, a couple was enthusiastically kissing. On the other side, a boy exhaled his vape smoke into his hoodie.

            Ajay unzipped his backpack. Okay, give me the basic run down of the plot.”

 “For the whole series? Thats like explaining how the entire world works to an alien who just landed here.” But if anyone was up to the task, Bridget figured she was.

 “Do the best you can.” 

Author Bio:

April Henry is the New York Times bestselling author of many acclaimed mysteries for adults and young adults, including the YA novels Girl, Stolen; The Girl I Used to Be, which was nominated for an Edgar Award; The Night She Disappeared; and Body in the Woods and Blood Will Tell, Books One and Two in the Point Last Seen series. She lives in Oregon.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

2 comments:

Please do not spam each blog post with the same comment (such as 'I like the cover' or 'sounds like a good read'). No one likes spam, and those comments will be deleted if they continue to happen daily. Thanks for understanding.