Menu

Friday, August 27, 2021

Ouija by Zoe-Lee O'Farrell - Book Tour & Review



Book Blurb

The only thing for certain is the deaths were no accident.

Rayner High School once a prestigious school stands in ruins after such a terrible event.

A year later, a group of friends return to the abandoned school and their nightmare begins.


Something wants to get out and won’t take NO for an answer…

Ouija is Book 2 in a new series brought to you by Question Mark Horror. For fans of Point Horror, Christopher Pike & Nicholas Pine.

Check out Book 1 - Camp Death by Jim Ody

Buy Links
Amazon UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0997CPK3J/
Amazon US - https://www.amazon.com/Ouija-Zo%C3%A9-Lee-OFarrell-ebook/dp/B0997CPK3J

 My Review
Ouija is a fun little horror novel that, if you're anything like me, will have your imagination going haywire when you're trying to sleep (probably my fault for reading the book at night while in bed).
The story follows a group of friends as they decide to go to an abandoned school and hold a séance with a Ouija board. Unfortunately for them, something bad happened at the school, and their meddling with the supernatural brings forth something that should never should have been awakened.
This is a quick, easy read. It's engaging, and as a reader, I found myself immediately invested in what was going on. Of course, the only smart one in the book was Lara, who clearly didn't want to involve herself in a séance but ended up caving to peer pressure. Biggest mistake ever. 
I was a little surprised, as well, but how defensive Sophie was of Jon. Although, I guess it makes sense, considering she has a crush on him. Love makes people do dumb things.
There's definitely a creepy, unsettling atmosphere to the story. I imagined this playing out as a movie, and it's the type that I could see having lots of jump scares and anxiety-inducing moments of legitimate fear. 
For a debut novel, I have to say I'm very impressed. As a life-long lover of horror (been reading/watching for 30 years now), it takes a lot to really get under my skin and make me feel at least somewhat apprehensive. Ouija succeeded in that aspect, so bravo!
If you're looking for some horror to make you feel nostalgic (and also yell at the characters for being dumb), check out Ouija.
4.5 stars!


Zoé O’Farrell grew up in Watford but left the town life to live by the sea down at the White Cliffs of Dover.
She spends her days working with numbers before escaping in the evening to the world of words and movies. Her go-to relaxation is watching a scary movie or reading a terrifying book!

 She is a book blogger and tour organiser just to keep her extra busy. When she is not reading or writing, you can usually find her watching Watford FC or at a gig. Failing that she can be found rolling her eyes at her husband as he acts the same age as her spitfire of a Mini-Me whilst separating her two cats.

 Ouija is her debut novel.


Follow her at:

Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/zooloosbookdiary/

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/zooloo2008

Website : https://zooloosbookdiary.co.uk/


2 comments:

  1. Thank you so much for this review! You don't know how much it means to me to know you enjoyed it so much! Thank you for taking part in the tour

    ReplyDelete

Please do not spam each blog post with the same comment (such as 'I like the cover' or 'sounds like a good read'). No one likes spam, and those comments will be deleted if they continue to happen daily. Thanks for understanding.