Menu

Sunday, October 17, 2021

Highland Games by Evie Alexander - Book Tour + Giveaway

Highland Games

A fiery heroine, a Scottish god, a cabin, a castle, and enough heat to warm the coldest Scottish winter… 

Highland Games is an unputdownable, enemies-to-lovers, romantic comedy, with sparkle and sizzle and a guaranteed happy ending. This sexy, witty, debut from Evie Alexander will have you laughing, swooning, and staying up way past your bedtime...

Perfect for fans of Sally ThorneTalia Hibbert, Sophie Kinsella, and Helen Hoang. If you’re looking for a riotous romantic comedy with plenty of heat, then Highland Games is for you!

♥♥♥ Welcome to Kinloch, and the hottest winter Scotland’s ever seen. ♥♥♥

Zoe’s always played it safe, just as her parents wanted. But when her great-uncle dies and leaves her a ramshackle cabin in the Scottish Highlands, she decides it’s time to change her life.

Upping sticks seems like a good idea in her cosy flat in London, but the reality is very different. There’s no electricity or running water, the roof leaks and there’s no front door. If that wasn’t bad enough, she’s moved up in the depths of winter and her scorching hot neighbour wants her out.

Rory’s got a fifty thousand tonne problem. If he can’t make Kinloch castle profitable, he’s out of a job. He needs a clear head, but there’s someone living in the cabin he saw as his own and she’s turned his world upside down.

Rory needs Zoe out of Scotland, and out of his life. The trouble is, she has no intention of leaving.

Let the games begin…

Pre-order Link - https://amzn.to/3la37GY

Author Q&A
1. What would you consider to be your Kryptonite as an author?
The internet and social media...

2. If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?
Don’t try and be anyone else. Just be yourself!

3. What book do you feel is under-appreciated? How about overrated?
Under appreciated book would be Miss Buncle’s Book by D E Stevenson just because I wish more people would read it. Overrated is a matter of personal opinion so I’ll leave that one!

4. Favorite childhood memory involving books?
Leaving my nursery in London at age four when my parents moved, and being given a book as a present and knowing even then how important this was to me.

5. If you could dine with any literary character, who would it be and why?
Wonder Woman, because she’s my hero.

6. What fantastical fictional world would you want to live in (if any) given the chance?
The planet ‘Not Hoth’ from Ruby Dixon’s Ice Planet Barbarians series.

7. Did you want to be an author when you grew up?
I wanted to be a film writer and director.

8. If you had to describe yourself in three words, what would they be?
Generous, funny, determined.

9. What is your most unusual writing quirk?
I don’t think I have one!

10. What’s one movie you like recommending to others?
Groundhog Day, The Princess Bride, and Galaxy Quest

11. If you could own any animal as a pet, what would it be?
A dragon, so I could ride it.

12. Have you ever met anyone famous?
Yes, many many people! One of my most ‘celeb’ moments was on Eddie Jordan’s private yacht in Cannes, hanging out with Andrea and Caroline Corr, Liam Cunningham and Ali Hewson, Bono’s wife. That was an interesting afternoon.

 13. What is the first book that made you cry?
Jane Eyre. I was a teenager and sobbed like a baby.

14. How long, on average, does it take you to write a book?
The planning can take weeks or years, but now, once I start writing, I can write an eighty thousand word book in eight weeks

15. How do you select the names of your characters?
It’s really tricky as they have to go together and not have been used before, the right generation, and not belonging to people I don’t like!

16. What creature do you consider your spirit animal to be?
A drunk and confused honey badger

17. What are your top 5 favorite movies?
The Princess Bride, Galaxy Quest, Groundhog Day, Wonder Woman, The Family Man

18. If you were the last person on Earth, what would you do?
Bloody hell. I’d probably take enough morphine to die happy rather than be alone.

19. What fictional character would you want to be friends with in real life?
Wonder Woman or Mary Russell

20. Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?
Just keep writing and practicing your craft. And always assume what you first think is brilliant, you’ll know is utter rubbish in a couple of years.

21. What book do you wish you had written?
Every Harry Potter...

22. Tell us 10 fun facts about yourself!
I can speak basic Indonesian and can sing ‘head, shoulders, knees and toes’ in the language.

I was named after a dog

I am six foot tall

My daughter is named after a 16th century composer and an American football quarterback.

My great uncle traced our family tree back to the Queen, Alfred the Great, Shakespeare and Nelson.

I used to write and direct films

I work out of a second hand glamping pod from Lithuania, that I have named The Smut Hut.

I play the flute, piano (badly), recorders, and I also used to conduct a choir and a Gilbert and Sullivan Society

I get drunk on less than half a glass of wine, and then call my friends across the world to tell them I love them

I am very bad at accents but I keep doing them because it makes me laugh

23. If you could live in any time period, what would it be and why?
I would have to be rich and the time period would be between the wars. I just love the literature of that time

24. What is your favorite genre to read?
Romance

 25. When did you write your first book?
When I was ten. It was a collection of my stories and poems

26. What sparks your creativity/how do you get your ideas?
Being in public around people. The best place to people watch is an airport.

27. What do you like to do when you’re not writing?
Chat to friends, laugh, eat, sunbathe

28. What’s a typical writing day like for you?
Wake between half four and half five. Fail to get back to sleep. Get up around six. Stagger downstairs and flip up the chromebook with one google doc open on it. Write until seven thirty when the rest of the family stagger downstairs. Do morning chores and then take the chromebook somewhere quieter. Write until midmorning when I stop for breakfast. Write some more then take a break around three to sort my daughter out and whatever is happening around tea time. Eat dinner, then write until my eyes start bleeding. Go to bed.

29. Do you listen to music when writing?
No. The one exception to this was when I was writing two sections involving music in Kissing Games and Musical Games. I put a piece of ‘relaxing’ instrumental music on youtube and turned the volume down on my noise cancelling headphones so that I could hardly hear it. I know that sounds nuts...

30. If you could have a dinner party with 3 other authors, who would they be?
Margaret Amatt, Kelly Kay, and Julia Jarrett. I’ve known them for years but have yet to meet them in real life.

31. If you had to pick a celebrity to cast for your main character, who would it be?
Sam Heughan as Rory...

32. If you could travel anywhere in the world to write, where would you go?
Bali. I was last there for a few weeks in 1991 and my soul misses it.

33. Would you ever write under a pseudonym?
Yes!

34. Do you have a favorite food/snack/drink when writing (or anytime)?
I don’t eat or drink when I write as it is too distracting. But Godiva 90% dark chocolate and Cheesies are some pretty epic snacks

35. How do you choose your book covers?
It’s a long and involved process with my designer.

36. What’s one thing you’d like to say to your readers?
Thank you so much for reading my books and please leave me a review!

 

Author Bio 



Evie Alexander is the author of sexy romantic comedies with a very British sense of humour. She takes a method approach to her work, believing her capacity to repeatedly fail at life and love is what has given her such a rich supply of material for her writing.

Her interests include reading, eating, saving the world, and fantasising about people who only exist between the pages of her books. She lives in the West country with her family.

Website: https://eviealexanderauthor.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eviealexanderauthor

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/eviealexanderauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Evie_author

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/21611777.Evie_Alexander

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/evie-alexander

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/eviealexanderauthor/

Giveaway to Win a signed copy of Highland Games, Shortbread and more… (Open to UK Only)

Prize is a signed copy of Highland Games, Exclusive postcard and bookmark, Personalised heart & Shortbread




*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please do not spam each blog post with the same comment (such as 'I like the cover' or 'sounds like a good read'). No one likes spam, and those comments will be deleted if they continue to happen daily. Thanks for understanding.