Menu

Monday, October 18, 2021

The Secrets of Hawthorn Place by Jenni Keer - Book Blitz + Giveaway

The Secrets of Hawthorn Place

Love will always find a way… Discover the intriguing secrets of Hawthorn Place in this heartfelt dual-time novel, filled with warmth and charm, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Cecelia Ahern.


Two houses, hundreds of miles apart...yet connected always.

When life throws Molly Butterfield a curveball, she decides to spend some time with her recently widowed granddad, Wally, at Hawthorn Place, his quirky Victorian house on the Dorset coast.

But cosseted Molly struggles to look after herself, never mind her grieving granddad, until the accidental discovery of an identical Art and Crafts house on the Norfolk coast offers her an unexpected purpose, as well as revealing a bewildering mystery.

Discovering that both Hawthorn Place and Acacia House were designed by architect Percy Gladwell, Molly uncovers the secret of a love which linked them, so powerful it defied reason.

What follows is a summer which will change Molly for ever...

Purchase Link - https://bit.ly/HawthornSecrets


Author Q&A
Favorite childhood memory involving books?
My first real memory is my dad bringing me home Mr Men books and making me read the title before I was allowed to have the book. I remember Mr Impossible being impossible! My dad really encouraged my reading when I was little, and I remember complaining to him once that I had read every single book on my very large bookshelf, so he lent me his copy of the Hobbit – which I really enjoyed. Great memories.

Did you want to be an author when you grew up?
I always enjoyed creative writing at school but didn’t think about being an author until my children were little. (I foolishly dreamed of being an actress when I was younger.) After I married, I had four boys in three years and read A LOT of books to escape my busy life. My friend suggested we wrote a love scene for fun, as we’d been criticising one in a book we’d just read. It that was a light-bulb moment for me because a whole story formed in my head and I realised that writing was what I wanted to do. It then took me nine long years to get published, but I persevered, and am so glad I did.

If you had to describe yourself in three words, what would they be?
Friendly, tall, humorous.

What’s one movie you like recommending to others?
Just Like Heaven with Mark Ruffalo and Reese Witherspoon. It has everything: comedy, drama, sadness, romance and a little bit of magic… and is so uplifting. I must have watched it twenty times. It’s also one of the few films my teenage boys will watch with me, so that’s a bonus.

How long, on average, does it take you to write a book?
Optimistically, it takes about 6 months to write a book before it begins the editing process with the publisher. I’m not a fast writer, probably because I rarely plan, and because I take the research very seriously. I love adding tiny details to my books that show the reader that I know the subject, so will spend a long time looking at chairs, for example, so I can have an Edwardian lady sit in an Elm lathe-backed Windsor. I get lost down research rabbit-holes and do a lot of reading around the subjects in my books. Plus, I’m the queen of rewrites.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?
Ooo, yes, lots! I’m such a fan of encouraging new writers because I know how hard it is. Firstly, I would say finish the book. Don’t give up halfway through and start something new. It’s really important to write to the end as you will learn so much if you do. Most authors will tell you every book reaches a stage where they hate it, but I guarantee pushing through will reap rewards. Also, surround yourself with other writers, both online and in real life, because only they will truly understand the frustrations of writing. They will be able to guide you and will be fantastic cheerleaders when success starts to come your way. Lastly, keep reading, and not just in the genre you want to write it. You will absorb so much from other authors without even realising.

Tell us 10 fun facts about yourself!
1) I’m part of a disco formation dance team.

2) I have four teenage sons who are now all taller than me - and I’m 5’9”.

3) I also have four cats, one of whom has no eyes and is called Seymour.

4) I’m part of the Romantic Novellists Association and would not be published without their support.

5) I live in the beautiful Suffolk countryside with no central heating!

6) I enjoy fancy dress, and have been a penguin and the TARDIS in my time.

7) I was an extra in the beach scene of Richard Curtis’s film “Yesterday”.

8) My first book “The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker” was shortlisted for two awards.

9) Elizabeth Talbot of Bargain Hunt and Flog it! fame, helped me with my auction house research for “The Unlikely Life of Maisie Meadows”.

10) I was a children’s nanny in London for a while and lived opposite Rick Astley and round the corner from Mick Jagger.

Do you listen to music when writing?
Sometimes, because I need to block out my noisy family so I put headphones on and play music. Occasionally, I play emotional songs to help get me in the mood for a particular scene. However, I need silence to edit, so it varies.

What sparks your creativity/how do you get your ideas?
Ideas for books ping into my mind ALL THE TIME. If I’m watching a film, I’m constantly thinking of twists I would introduce, or tweaking ideas from the storyline. Sometimes my dreams will give me an idea – I have quite random dreams... Everyone I meet is a potential character, and every conversation I have can lead to the germ of an idea. I think most authors are the same, questioning everything around them, and are forever asking “What if...?”

Author Bio –

Jenni Keer is a history graduate who embarked on a career in contract flooring before settling in the middle of the Suffolk countryside with her antique furniture restorer husband. She has valiantly attempted to master the ancient art of housework but with four teenage boys in the house it remains a mystery. Instead, she spends her time at the keyboard writing commercial women's fiction to combat the testosterone-fuelled atmosphere, with her number one fan #Blindcat by her side. Much younger in her head than she is on paper, she adores any excuse for fancy-dress and is part of a disco formation dance team.

Jenni is also the author of The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker and The Unexpected Life of Maisie Meadows.

Social Media Links –

FB Jenni Keer Writer

Twitter @JenniKeer

Instagram jennikeer

 

Giveaway to Win a Signed copy of the Secrets of Hawthorn Place, plus chocolate and a sparkly pen. (UK Only)

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.



2 comments:

  1. Thanks so much for having me on your blog. Brilliant questions. I had so much fun x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're very welcome! And thank you for the interview. Love the movie recommendation. Just Like Heaven is a great film. :)

      Delete

Please do not spam each blog post with the same comment (such as 'I like the cover' or 'sounds like a good read'). No one likes spam, and those comments will be deleted if they continue to happen daily. Thanks for understanding.