Latest Posts

The Tenant by Angela Lester - Book Tour & Review

By 6:00 AM , , ,



Book Blurb

Amy is the perfect landlady. But she does have some ground rules…

 Kate has always dreamed of a life in music. And now she’s finally done something about it – giving up her steady job, moving to the city to enroll in a degree program at a prestigious college.

 Needing a place to live, she answers an ad and moves in with Amy who seems a nice lady – mothering and protective.

At first Kate is glad to have some support in this strange city, but gradually Amy’s presence becomes more and more stifling – it just seems so hard to get away from her. And every time Kate tries, something terrible happens…

 As her life spirals downwards, Kate struggles to understand what’s happening. Is Amy plotting against her? Or is she simply buckling under the stress of adjusting to her new life?

 Fearing for her sanity, Kate knows she needs to get some answers and begins to look into the history of the creepy old house she shares with Amy. What she finds is beyond her worst nightmares…

 The Tenant, the terrifying psychological thriller perfect for fans of K L Slater, Jane Renshaw, Teresa Driscoll

 

Buy Links
Amazon UK -  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Tenant-gripping-psychological-thriller-ending-ebook/dp/B09Z6W745R

Amazon US -  https://www.amazon.com/Tenant-gripping-psychological-thriller-ending-ebook/dp/B09Z6W745R

My Review
The Tenant is a psychological thriller that will make your head spin. Trust me, this one is a bit of a doozy. I felt like I was a victim of gaslighting while reading this. Seriously, it's a wild ride that will make you wonder if you're going crazy right along with Kate, the main character.
The story follows Kate, a woman who has decided to start her life over in a new location. She's determined to become a music teacher, so she enrolls in a college program and finds a room to rent with Amy, nice enough woman who had posted an ad. Amy has lost her mom and is trying to erase her memory by renting out the room to Kate. But things soon take a turn, and Kate starts questioning everything. Is her alcohol consumption and sleepwalking causing her to black out? Is she suffering from DID? Is Amy's mom haunting the house? Or is something more sinister going on?
I definitely wasn't sure what to expect going in to this book, but I have to say, it definitely made me start to question my own sanity.
I don't want to give too much away, but I will say this is definitely an intriguing rollercoaster ride.
I think the only thing that irked me was none of Kate's friends/colleagues tried to intervene or get her help. They offered advice and suggestions, but I felt like at some point, they should have done more if they thought she was becoming too reliant on alcohol and having blank spots in her memory. That was the only negative thing for me about the book.
If you're a fan of psychological thrillers, give The Tenant a go.
4 stars!


Author Bio

Angela Lester loves writing psychological suspense that explores the dark side of human nature.

 A philosophy graduate, she came over from Germany in 1991 and has lived in Cardiff ever since.  She plays the piano, sings in a choir and loves walking in the great Welsh countryside. She has worked as bookseller and translator, but her real passion is writing. She has written short stories and novels in German and English. The Tenant is her first published thriller.

 The Tenant is her first psychological thriller with Inkubator Books.

 

Follow her at:
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/AMLester99

You Might Also Like

2 Comments

Please try not to spam posts with the same comments over and over again. Authors like seeing thoughtful comments about their books, not the same old, "I like the cover" or "sounds good" comments. While that is nice, putting some real thought and effort in is appreciated. Thank you.