Latest Posts

The Sweetheart Locket by Jen Gilroy - Book Tour + Giveaway

By 3:00 AM , , , , ,


The Sweetheart Locket

What if the key to your present lies in the past?

London, 1939
On the eve of the Second World War, Canadian Maggie Wyndham defies her family and stays in England to do her bit for the war effort. Torn between two countries, two men and living a life of lies working for the Special Operations Executive (SOE), Maggie's RAF sweetheart locket is part of who she is...and who she isn't.

San Francisco, 2019
Over twenty years after Maggie's death, her daughter Millie and granddaughter Willow take a DNA test that's supposed to be a bit of fun but instead yields unexpected results. Willow has always treasured her grandmother's sweetheart locket, both family heirloom and a symbol of her grandparents' love story. But now she doesn't know what to believe. She embarks on a search for the truth, one she doesn't know will reveal far more about herself...

A gripping and heart-breaking dual timeline novel about love, loss and buried secrets, The Sweetheart Locket is perfect for fans of Lorna Cook, Rachel Hore and Suzanne Kelman.

Purchase Links

Universal Amazon link: http://mybook.to/TheSweetheartLocket

Other links (Apple, GooglePlay & Kobo) via Hachette: https://www.hachette.co.uk/titles/jen-gilroy-2/the-sweetheart-locket/9781398708365/


 Excerpt
What if the key to your present lies in the past?

From England and France in the Second World War to San Francisco 2019, "The Sweetheart Locket," inspired by the “sweetheart jewellery” members of the armed forces gave to loved ones at home, is a dual timeline historical women's fiction story of love, loss and family secrets, intertwined with courage & hope.

This extract comes from the historical storyline in January 1943 when Maggie, a young Canadian woman who stayed in England at the outbreak of war to “do her bit” is undertaking parachute training to become an undercover special agent in France with Britain’s Special Operations Executive (SOE).

Maggie scrambled into the plane…There was no backing out now… “All in an afternoon’s work.” She forced a carefree laugh.

“Off we go.” The pilot turned and winked at Maggie as [she] buckled [herself] in as directed.

Maggie clasped her hands as the aircraft’s engines started up and then they trundled down the runway gaining speed until they were airborne and the airfield was a speck in the distance below. She gripped her hands until her knuckles went white, inhaling the scent of fuel, oil and sweat.

All too soon they were over the drop zone and the instructor barked out more reminders …

As the aircraft descended again, the trap door on the floor opened and cold air rushed in…

“Stand by.” The instructor’s voice was sharp.

Maggie slid on her bottom towards the edge of the open hatch and dropped her feet into it…

She stole a glance at the instructor as he counted down the seconds…and lifted herself up using her hands and hung over the open door. Being brave didn’t mean you weren’t afraid. You did what you had to despite the fear. 


Author Bio –

Jen Gilroy writes sweet contemporary romance and dual timeline historical women’s fiction—warm, feel-good stories to bring readers’ hearts home.

A Romance Writers of America® Golden Heart® finalist and shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists’ Association Joan Hessayon award, Amazon named her third book, 'Back Home at Firefly Lake,' a 'Best Book of the Month: Romance' in December 2017.

A dual British-Canadian citizen, Jen lived in England for many years and earned a doctorate (with a focus on British cultural studies and social history) from University College London. Returning to where her Irish family roots run deep, she now lives with her husband, teenage daughter and floppy-eared rescue hound in small-town Eastern Ontario, Canada.

When not writing, she enjoys reading, ice cream, ballet and paddling her purple kayak.

Visit Jen online at www.jengilroy.com

Social Media Links –

Twitter: www.twitter.com/JenGilroy1

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JenGilroyAuthor/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jen.gilroyauthor/

Giveaway to Win 2 x Kindle copies of The Sweetheart Locket (Open to UK / Canada)

*Terms and Conditions –UK & Canada entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.


 

You Might Also Like

0 Comments

Please try not to spam posts with the same comments over and over again. Authors like seeing thoughtful comments about their books, not the same old, "I like the cover" or "sounds good" comments. While that is nice, putting some real thought and effort in is appreciated. Thank you.