Saturday, January 23, 2021

Circles of Deceit by Paul CW Beatty - Book Tour

4:00 AM 0


Circles of Deceit

Murder, conspiracy, radicalism, poverty, riot, violence, capitalism, technology: everything is up for grabs in the early part of Victoria’s reign.


Radical politicians, constitutional activists and trade unionists are being professionally assassinated. When Josiah Ainscough of the Stockport Police thwarts an attempt on the life of the Chartist leader, Feargus O’Connor, he receives public praise, but earns the enmity of the assassin, who vows to kill him.


‘Circles of Deceit’, the second of Paul CW Beatty’s Constable Josiah Ainscough’s historical murder mysteries, gives a superb and electric picture of what it was to live in 1840s England. The novel is set in one of the most turbulent political periods in British history, 1842-1843, when liberties and constitutional change were at the top of the political agenda, pursued using methods fair or foul.

Purchase Links

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Circles-Deceit-casebook-Josiah-Ainscough-ebook/dp/B08LLCPSYR

https://www.amazon.com/Circles-Deceit-casebook-Josiah-Ainscough-ebook/dp/B08LLCPSYR

Excerpt
It might be the Victorian era but Circles of Deceit is set in the early part of Victoria’s reign when political and social turmoil were on the national agenda. There was discontent in mills and other industries, and this began to boil over into riots and confrontations with troops…

 [The marchers] turned into the market square. There were barricades around the Castle Mill manned by lines of soldiers in tight formation, muskets at the ready. The turn-outs went as far as they could, then stopped. A tense silence fell.

Phillip Burrell stepped forward. He stood tall and went forward with determination towards the town hall. As he approached the line of soldiers in front of the town hall steps two infantry men barred his way by crossing their muskets in front of him.

[A] tipstaff stepped forward. ‘State the nature of your business here,’ he declaimed. Everyone in the square could hear him.

‘I wish to speak with the Mayor. A confrontation where firearms are involved is in nobody’s interest. I hope he will agree to speak with me.’

If Phillip was shaken by the force being displayed against him and his people, Josiah did not hear it in his voice.

A small group stepped on to a first-floor balcony of the town hall. The Mayor was there, Mr Prestbury and Sir Grancester Smyth. The Mayor leant over the rail. ‘I have nothing to say to you Mr Burrell or the rabble at your back.’ He was not confident he was saying the right thing, but he went on, nonetheless. ‘We know of your seditious schemes and conspiracies, but we will not tolerate them here. These are the only words you will hear from us: Mr Prestbury.’

The Chair of the Police Watch Committee stepped forward, his pince-nez in place. He held up a piece of paper and began to read. ‘Our sovereign Lady the Queen Victoria chargeth and commandeth all persons, being assembled, immediately to disperse themselves, and peaceably to depart to their habitations, or to their lawful business, upon the pains contained in the acts for preventing tumults and riotous assemblies.’ He folded the paper and put it in his pocket, ‘The Riot Act has been read. God save the Queen.’

Suddenly, Mr Prestbury’s head jerked back and a splash of blood spattered the Mayor. The sound of the shot had come from behind Josiah, from St Mary’s Parish Church.

Several things happened at once. The soldiers immediately fell back to the town hall steps and others emerged from behind barricades and from the gates of Castle Mill. This left Phillip on his own in the open, which Josiah remedied by racing over to him, barging him and half dragging him to cover.

‘What the hell just happened?’

‘Someone with a rifle has shot Mr Prestbury.’

‘For the love of God why?’


Author Bio – 

Paul CW Beatty is an unusual combination of a novelist and a research scientist. Having worked for many years in medical research in the UK NHS and Universities, a few years ago he took an MA in Creative Writing at Manchester Metropolitan University emerging with a distinction.

His latest novel, Children of Fire, is a Victorian murder mystery set in 1841 at the height of the industrial revolution. It won the Writing Magazine’s Best Novel Award in November 2017 and is published by The Book Guild Ltd. 

Paul lives near Manchester in the northwest of England. Children of Fire is set against the hills of the Peak District as well as the canals and other industrial infrastructure of the Cottonopolis know as the City of Manchester.

Social Media Links – Twitter @cw_beatty

 

Read more...

Friday, January 22, 2021

The Atlantis Codes by Larry Hamilton - Book Tour

8:00 AM 0
 


Book 1 of The Atlantis Legacy Series

Teens, Young Adult, and all mature readers

Date Published: November 19, 2020

Publisher: Mindstir Media



Trouble is coming…coming by land…coming by sea. Coming for you…and coming for me.

What would you do if you had just prepared a perfect margarita and turned to leave your kitchen only to find a menacing assassin blocking the doorway and his stated intent was to kill you right now?

This is the situation Matt Flannery is confronted with on an otherwise typical Saturday afternoon at his bungalow on Anna Maria Island, Florida.

Who is this mountain of a man? Why is he here? What does he want? And…why me?

This day and this incident begin an unexpected, epic journey for Matt that will not only change his life, but the lives of his friends, family, and possibly…all that live on Planet Earth.

This journey of discovery will take Matt to many destinations in search of answers to his questions. Questions raised many years earlier by his explorer grandfather, James “Irish” Flannery, who Matt idolized. Sailing aboard his beloved charter fishing vessel, the Nice Catch, Matt sets out with his girlfriend Kelli, fellow seeker Lucien, and close friend Jake in search of solutions to the perplexing problems and fresh dangers that continually present themselves. The action moves in a frantic and tightening spiral that always threatens to be the undoing of our intrepid crew.

Come meet the ever-evolving cast of characters who play a part in this thrilling story and discover, along with Matt, what the real story behind the story is.

Are you ready to board the Nice Catch and take part in this stirring saga? Just keep telling yourself that “it is only a story…isn’t it?”


Excerpt
“The Ancient Ones had intended Atlantis to be a shining city on a hill, spreading light to the whole world—when the world was ready and able to embrace that light.”




"LARRY HAMILTON KEEPS THE INTENSITY DIALED UP IN CRITICAL MASS, THE SECOND BOOK OF HIS ATLANTIS LEGACY SERIES. WITH ALL THE ELEMENTS EVERY GOOD THRILLER NEEDS LIKE SECRETS TO UNRAVEL, DOUBLE-CROSSES, MURKY GOVERNMENT TYPES, AND PLENTY OF FIREWORKS, HE LEAVES YOU VERY FEW SPOTS TO CATCH YOUR BREATH. COURAGE AND LOYALTY FACE-OFF AGAINST GREED AND POWER REACHING A CLIMAX THAT WILL LEAVE YOU ON YOUR OWN SEARCH FOR THE NEXT INSTALLMENT."

J.J. HEBERT,

#1 AMAZON BESTSELLING AUTHOR


About the Author

I'm insane! Just kidding again. Forgive me...

I have been a voracious reader since my earliest childhood. Words and books became a window to the wider world for me as I grew up in poverty in the hills of Appalachia in Eastern Kentucky. So I traveled the world in the county library which was free and held unlimited mystery and exotic locations for me to sample. I used to climb the nearby hills and look to the other side in the hopes of seeing a harbor or great city. As a result, I have always loved words. Unlike video, books were interactive and required me to create the pictures the writer was trying to paint. So, I became accustomed to doing so. As I grew into adulthood, I felt the itch to try to create something meaningful with words. But, I had no formal training or encouragement to do so and I also had jobs, businesses, and families to take care of. So writing stayed on the backburner. But as I reached my 50's, the urge to write began to resurface and I had more time and means to do so. That is why I began writing. So why write these books about these subjects?

I have always had a strong interest in the things we don't fully understand or know as human beings...yet. Every time our scientists make a great physics discovery for example, it seems to bring into question everything they thought they knew. And they start over in their quest for true understanding. I actually love it when that happens. The mysterious unknown feeds our sense of wonder and gives us more windmills to tilt at. Humans love it. It's what drives us and fuels us. The urge to know and see what is over that next hill. The Atlantis Legacy Series incorporates all of this. Ancient histories of this planet that are still slowly coming to light. The question of Who are We? and Why are we Here? are fundamental to everyone. New things are being unearthed, so to speak, every day. Both on the planet and off the planet. By Book 3 of this series, we will be examining all of these great unknowns and what mankind would do if our origin and place in the universe is not exactly what we have been told it is. Ultimately, I want to take the reader on this search for discovery in a fun, adventurous way but also address these great mysteries that are becoming more apparent with each new discovery. I guess I wrote these books for myself and trust they find like-minded readers who will share this thrilling ride with me. It is my life's dream.


Contact Links

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Blog

Pinterest

Instagram

Youtube


Purchase Links

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

B-A-M

IndieBound


RABT Book Tours & PR
Read more...

A Warlock's Storm by Marie-Claude Bourque - Book Blitz + Giveaway

7:00 AM 1

A Warlock’s Storm
Marie-Claude Bourque
(The Order of the Black Oak – Stories #1)
Publication date: January 21st 2021
Genres: Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Urban Fantasy

A WARLOCK’S STORM: A Seasoned Urban Fantasy Romance

Meet the Order of the Black Oak: a powerful order of modern-day warriors fighting evil to protect the ones they love.

When rugged warlock turned fisherman Reynolds Stanford finds himself stranded in a haunted New England harbor at the approach of a powerful tropical storm, he must battle more than sea monsters and revenants. The gorgeous female panther shifter sent to help him by his family is tugging emotions buried deep within his soul and he fears that while he might survive the night from the deadly assault on his ship, he may very well end-up losing his heart in the process.

If you love loyal tough guys with hearts, satisfying slow-burn paranormal romance and safe Happily Ever Afters, the Black Oak World is for you.

Fantastic series of action, magic and awesome romance. You will fall in love with the characters and feel you are right with them.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

EXCERPT:

Meet Rey…. (Her POV)

Reynolds Stanford was a tall strapping man. His shoulders were wide under the fitted white t-shirt now sullied from the slayed monster’s blood, his posture solid with the harpoon planted at his side.

Saira’s insides, still bristling from the shifting hormones, rumbled with lust. Her niece Kerala had forgotten to mention how hot the recluse warlock was.

“What the hell is this?” Rey glanced at the sea then back at her, his brows knitted in confusion. “Where did you come from?”

She shrugged, her lips still curled in gentle amusement at recalling his earlier shock of seeing her appear out of nowhere. “Your cousin Diesel sent me.”

“Diesel, huh?” His tone lightened as he shook his head and stored his harpoon by the hatch leading below. “I should have known, the boy likes his magic.”

“He thought you might need help.” Barely five minutes ago, she’d been standing inside a magical circle at Breaker Hall in Seaport while Diesel and his mother, both extremely powerful sorcerers, had performed the ritual that had sent her here.

When her niece Kerala—who also happened to be Diesel Stanford’s wife—had learned through her fishermen connections that their cousin Rey had decided to sit out the tropical storm in a haunted cove, Diesel had been worried for his safety. Saira had volunteered to help. She’d been visiting with the couple for a fortnight and getting bored.

From her perch on the top deck, she surveyed the perfect circle of bay in the last light of the ending day. The mounting surf crashed at the shore on high cliffs dotted with tall pines. The one narrow pebble beach was littered with small, broken derelict boats, their mismatched planks oddly jutted upwards in their final journey.

She shuddered and her smile vanished. “Devil Eye Cove. Doesn’t look like the friendliest place.”

Author Bio:

Marie-Claude Bourque is a Seattle-based author of gothic paranormal romance and the winner of the American Title V award with her first novel ANCIENT WHISPERS.

Her writing features modern-day fantasy skillfully weaved into infinitely romantic supernatural stories between smart strong women and complex passionate heroes.

Happily Ever After always absolutely guaranteed!

Newsletter / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Bookbub / Amazon


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Read more...

The Grimm Cases by Lyla Oweds - Book Tour + Giveaway

6:00 AM 0
The Grimm Cases banner

This is my stop during the blog tour for The Grimm Cases series by Lyla Oweds. The Grimm Cases is a Young Adult/ New Adult Paranormal Mystery series with 5 books out so far. 

This blog tour is organized by Lola's Blog Tours. The blog tour runs from 18 till 31 January. See the tour schedule here.

Origins

Origins (The Grimm Cases #1)
By Lyla Oweds
Genre: Paranormal Mystery
Age category: Young Adult/ New Adult

Blurb:
The things I see aren’t for the faint of heart.

And I am no longer willing to ignore them. Not even when my family, and my best friend, tell me to keep quiet about what’s happening. They say people will think I’m crazy.

Maybe I am.

But the spirit haunting my professor’s house is definitely trying to tell me something, and I’m the only one who can see it.

The one person who can help me is my best friend's brother. But I don’t know if I can trust him or his friends. Or if I can step outside the protective bubble I’ve built around myself.

At this point it’s a toss up: the ghosts will kill me or my panic attacks will.

Either way, I figure I’m going to die.


Links:


Excerpt
Even though I struggled, Damen had a firm grip on my backpack and wasn’t letting go. I was trying to ignore him, but I’d lost momentum and I slipped backward on the laminate floor. He continued to pull me toward him until my back rested against the hardness of his chest.

I could no longer ignore my predicament. “Damen, what are you doing? Let me go!”

Perhaps he was more like Titus than I’d thought, and he needed a dosage of the same deterrent.

He chuckled. “I’m holding you this way so you can’t escape. And, also, so you can’t attempt any underhanded tricks.”

“If you mean what I did to Titus, there was nothing underhanded about that,” I retorted. “It was self-defense.”

This was the worst. He knew—Titus had tattled on me. And he was angry.

“It was hilarious,” Damen said. His voice was a purr next to my ear—making it hard for me to focus. “And well deserved, I will admit. Titus can be overbearing. However, with you, I’d rather play it safe.”

Who was overbearing now?

“But there’s something else to discuss first.” His breath was warm against my ear.

I tried to ignore the shivers that shot down my spine as I focused on his words. “What?”

“How do you know Ms. Protean?” he asked. “Why would she need to talk to you?”

His questions caught me off guard, and I turned back to him in confusion. His face was both intense and worried.

“What does that have to do with anything?” I asked.

Damen sighed, releasing my backpack before turning me to face him. I hadn’t realized before now I had backed up to the end of the narrow aisle and was trapped between the edge of the bookshelf and his larger frame.

It should have been intimidating. Instead of being scared, I was only flustered. I couldn’t imagine why, because the only other person whoever made me feel this way was Finn…

Damen didn’t seem to notice my discomfort. “Ms. Protean,” he repeated. “What does she want with you?”

What was it to him, anyway? Did he loathe grandmotherly figures or something? But he seemed so concerned that I couldn’t get offended at the question. “She said she was going to help me. I was looking for some information.”

Damen gave me an appraising look. “Without me?”

Why did he have to seem so smug about this? It was as if he knew the effect he had on me. I opened my mouth to respond with something witty—which would probably have been embarrassing anyway—when the sounds of laughter drifted over from the next row.

The noise shattered the enchantment that had been cast over us, and my face burst with heat. There was no question as to how ridiculous we’d look to any passerby. The library was no place for games!

Damen’s gray eyes glinted mischievously—he must have had the same realization.

“Damen, let me go,” I hissed at him. But this only encouraged him, and he smiled, causing my heart to beat faster. “Someone is going to come down here and see us!”

“Really?” His grin grew wider. “So it’s all right if we don’t get caught, baby girl? Consider it noted.”

“No!” My mind screamed even though my words were a hiss. “You can’t play games with students. This is inappropriate. You are basically a professor.”

“Ah.” He ran his finger down my cheek. “But you aren’t my student.” His mouth dipped slightly. He tilted his head as his gaze continued to hold mine. “There’s just something about you.”

“Why are you so annoying?” I gritted out, trying to save face. Plus, was he kidding me with this? That sounded like a line from a cheesy romance novel. How many times had that worked for him in the past?

Finn’s stupid, horny brother. He could go flirt with someone else. No matter how much I wanted to lean into his touch, or melt under his scorching gaze—I wanted to poke him in the eyes that much more. What a quandary.

The sound of my name being called by a familiar voice saved Damen from getting hit where it hurt.

I tore my attention from Damen as I glanced in panic at the end of the aisle. This was the worst possible thing to happen. Finn could not know I was talking to his brother.

Finn called my name again, closer now. He was going to find us…

Damen, in the meantime, glanced over his shoulder—toward the direction of Finn’s voice. He frowned, muttering, “God, he still sounds like a douchebag. And not an ounce of courtesy, like he owns the place.” He didn’t seem all that concerned.

“Will you stop saying mean things?” I couldn’t stop the hysteria. “This is a disaster. Finn can’t find out I know you!”

“Why?” Damen’s eyes returned to me, flashing with something new. “Because you think he’d get angry?”

I didn’t think—I knew. And my heart raced at the thought.

There was a note of challenge in Damen’s voice, but there was something else too. It was almost as if he was hurt. It made me feel guilty on top of my fear. I had never wanted to hurt his feelings.

What was wrong with me?

I was just about to apologize, when he continued speaking—studying my face. “I’ll have you know my little brother doesn’t scare me.”

What did this mean? I was still trapped at the end of the aisle between him and the bookshelves. Finn could find us there at any second, and Damen didn’t seem to care. When that happened, Finn would not only know I had disregarded his wishes, but that I hadn’t listened to him about the other topic as well.

Every worst-case scenario flashed through my mind, and my breathing sped up.

“But he does scare you,” Damen said suddenly.

I blinked, his words crashing through my agonized thoughts. I was so fixated on Finn I had completely forgotten Damen was even there. Watching me.

He didn’t look very happy either—his face a mask of concern and fury. “Something stupid like this, and you’re afraid that you might anger him. What did he do to you?”

Oh no. No, no, no.

My eyes widened as I looked up at him. “I’m not scared,” I explained. “I’m just trying to prevent a confrontation. Can we leave, please? Before he finds us?”

Finn called out to me again. He had to be only seconds away from finding us.

I flinched. We had to move now.

“Liar.” Damen tore his gaze from mine and grabbed my hand. He seemed to have made up his mind. Stunned at his sudden action, I ended up just following along.

He pulled me after him, quickly approaching an opening between the bookcases to an adjacent doorway reserved for the library staff.

“I’ll help you,” he said, pulling me behind him. “But rest assured, we will be discussing this later. You deserve better than this.”


All books in the series:
Home (The Grimm Cases prequel novella)Origins (The Grimm Cases #1)Ghost (The Grimm Cases #2)Blood (The Grimm Cases #3)Hidden(The Grimm Cases #4)Balance (The Grimm Cases #5)


Get the first 3 books and the novella Home as a box set!
Mu
Mu is the box set collection which combines books 1-3 as well as the novella Home in one handy box set. You can buy it here.


About the Author:
Lyla Oweds is a paranormal romance author who resides in the beautiful Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania. She grew up near Gettysburg, Pennsylvania and is a native of Baltimore, Maryland, and has a deep appreciation for the paranormal, hauntings, and Edgar Allan Poe. As such, she loves all things fantasy, mystery, crime, and horror.

She is the author of the Paranormal Reverse Harem series, The Grimm Cases and related novellas. She has also published the first book of Gloria Protean’s story, The Red Trilogy. You can find out more about her current and upcoming works at her website, http://lylaoweds.com. 
When not reading, writing, or working as a web programmer, Lyla can be found doing adult-y things such as being a mom, decorating the house, and baking. She also frequently enjoys makeup videos, massages, wine, and coffee.

Author links:

Giveaway
There is a tour wide giveaway for the blog tour of The Grimm Cases. One winner win paperback copies of Origins, Ghost, Blood, and Home (US Only).

For a chance to win, enter the rafflecopter below:


Lola's Blog Tours graphic
Read more...

The Last Book by Nowick Gray - Book Blitz

5:00 AM 0

 


Sci-Fi, Time Travel

Publisher: Cougar WebWorks



The Last Book departs from Thomas Mann’s last, unfinished novel and propels its hero into the speculative waters of time travel, alternative history, and a dystopian future.

When precocious 19th-century con-man Felix Krull is recruited by an astral-traveling presidential candidate, Sophie Vaughan, he embarks on a quest across time to find her and prove his mettle on a world stage. His daredevil joyride through ’70s middle America tests his powers of persuasion and faith in a charmed destiny.

Fast-forwarded to 2036, Felix discovers Sophie caught in a multidimensional struggle between the controlling Hierarchy and the dissident Panarchists. First grappling with a new identity, then tested in his loyalty to Sophie, Felix faces a final showdown for the fate of the world.


Author Share Link

Nowick Gray began writing The Last Book upon finishing Thomas Mann’s last, unfinished novel The Confessions of Felix Krull, Confidence Man—determined to follow where the precocious con-man led. Nowick has published over dozen books of genre-bending fiction and creative nonfiction, exploring the edges of reality and illusion, choice and manifestation. He makes his home on Salt Spring Island, BC, where he also works as a copyeditor and enjoys hiking, kayaking, and playing African drums.

Contact Links

Website

Twitter

Facebook

LinkedIn

Promo Link


Purchase Links

Amazon

B&N

iBooks

Kobo

GooglePlay


RABT Book Tours & PR
Read more...

The Silver Rose Dating Agency by Angelena Boden - Book Tour & Review

4:00 AM 0




The Silver Rose Dating Agency


When lonely widow Kitty Merriweather moves to Derbyshire’s Hope Valley, she joins the Silver Rose online dating site because it offers a safe place for the over sixties to find romance.

There, she meets the enigmatic Harvey, a scientist working on a conservation project in Bali who promises her “hot days and stormy nights.”

Love blooms quickly but Kitty breaks all the rules laid down by the agency, putting herself at risk. When little things don’t add up she dismisses them as being unimportant. Nothing matters more than her plans for them to live happily ever after.

When she confides in her new friend, Edna Reid, octogenarian and former cafĂ© owner, Kitty gets angry at Edna’s implication she is likely the victim of a scam. The more Edna hears about Harvey, the more she is convinced he’s only interested in Kitty for her money.

Using her knowledge of computers Edna finally uncovers the truth, but where does black magic and murder fit into this intriguing cosy mystery?

Purchase Links
UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08KFFMQB2 

US - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08KFFMQB2

My Review
The Silver Rose Dating Agency is a fun little cozy mystery set in the village of Hope. It features a quirky cast of characters, all of them on the older end of the spectrum. There's also a mystery to solve when things start happening all over town. 
We've got Edna, a woman who's been in the village for quite some time. She's fond of crossword puzzles, the church choir, and hanging out with her BFF Manny. 
Then there's Kitty, a newcomer to the village. She's recently widowed, and she's a well-known opera singer. Kitty's ready to move on and find love again. So she turns to Silver Rose and hopes for the best. It's on the dating site that she connects with Harvey, a supposed scientist in Bali who seems to be a bit on the shy side and always in need of money. 
Edna knows Kitty is being scammed. Kitty refuses to believe it. So Edna goes on the hunt, determined to uncover what's going on and solve the mystery before it's too late.
I will admit, it did take me a little bit to really get into the story. I didn't quite connect with the characters right away, but once things got going, I found myself engaged and intrigued, curious to see how it would all play out. 
I really liked Edna. Even at her age, she was still sharp (and sometimes saucy), and she refused to back down from a challenge. I also liked Kitty, although she was a bit more reserved a naive about things. I did like that the first time Harvey asked her for money, she was immediately suspicious. But she still let herself get taken advantage of, and I honestly think it was because she really was lonely and still missed her husband, even if she was ready to move on.
Overall, this is a relatively quick, easy read. If you're a fan of cozy mysteries, give this one a go. 
4 stars.

Author Bio –

 Angelena Boden has spent thirty- five years as an international training consultant, specialising in behavioural management and conflict resolution. She trained in Transactional Analysis, the psychology of communication and behaviour, her preferred tool for counselling and coaching.

She originates from the Peak District but has spent a life time travelling and living in places as far apart as Vancouver, Dubai, Paris, Seville and Iran. Now semi-retired in Great Malvern, she writes every morning, walks the hills and paints landscapes every afternoon and fits family and reading in between.

She is the author of two novels published by Urbane Publications (rights reverted) and two self-published cosy mysteries and a number of business books (Management Pocketbooks). Angelena is a regular blogger for a mental health publisher (Trigger) and Autumn Voices website which promotes authors over 60.

Social Media Links –  angelenaboden.com

 

Read more...

Thursday, January 21, 2021

The Ultimate Betrayal by Kat Martin - Book Tour + Giveaway

9:00 AM 0

 

Join us for this tour from Jan 6 to Jan 26, 2021!

Book Details:

Book Title:  The Ultimate Betrayal (a Maximum Security Novel) by Kat Martin
CategoryAdult Fiction (18 yrs +),  464 pages
Genre: Romantic Suspense, Thriller
PublisherHQN
Release date:   December 29, 2020
Tour dates: Jan 6 to Jan 26, 2021
Content Rating:  R. The "F" word is used 12 times in the book. There are some explicit consensual sex scenes.
 

"With plenty of suspense, The Ultimate Betrayal is exactly the kind of escape you've been craving." - BOOKTRIB

Book Description:

When her father is accused of espionage and treason, journalist Jessie Kegan has no doubt the man she looked up to her entire life is innocent. Worse yet, before Colonel Kegan can stand trial, he’s found dead of a heart attack…but Jessie knows it was murder. Forcing aside her grief, she’s determined to use her investigative resources to clear her father’s name. But going after the truth means Jessie soon finds herself in the crosshairs of a killer who wants that truth to stay buried with her father. Protecting Jessie Kegan is a job bodyguard Brandon Garrett can’t refuse. Jessie isn’t just a client at Maximum Security—she’s the sister of his best friend, Danny, who was killed in Afghanistan. With dangerous enemies gunning for Jessie from every angle, keeping her safe will mean keeping her close, and Bran finds their mutual attraction growing, though being Danny’s sister puts Jessie out of bounds. With their backs against the wall, Jessie and Bran will have to risk everything to expose her father’s killer—before his legacy dies with his daughter.

Buy the Book:
Add to Goodreads

Guest Post
A Character's Voice
 Hearing a character’s voice in your head is one of the strangest parts of writing.  Each voice is distinct, unique to that person in some way.  How does it happen?

That is a question I have yet to satisfactorily answer. 

A novel is constructed by using different tools, description, narrative, setting, and dialog among them.  Letting a character tell the story through his own point of view is my favorite way of crafting a novel.

Not all authors use this technique as much as I do, but for me it’s what makes the story move swiftly.  As I’m writing, I hear the characters’ voices in my head, not clearly at first, but as the novel progresses, I et my writing instincts take over and listen to what the characters say, let them lead me in the direction that will tell my tale.

Once they start talking, I let them talk.  Later I can use the editorial side of my brain to polish their words, make them sharper, more precise.

To practice, one day I sat in front of the post office with my car windows rolled up and tried to hear the voice of every person walking along the sidewalk.  It was amazing--no two voices sounded the same!

In THE ULTIMATE BETRAYAL, Jessie Kegan is the daughter of a colonel, a young woman raised in a military family.  Now an investigative journalist, she’s strong and determined, which I hope her voice reflects.  Brandon Garrett was once a special forces soldier, which gives him vast confidence tinged with a hint of arrogance.  The voice in my head reflected those qualities. 

In the novel, when Jessie’s father, Colonel Kegan, is accused of treason, she’s determined to clear his name.  Realizing her life is in grave danger, Jessie turns to Brandon for help.  But time is running out and the game being played is deadly.  Working together, Bran and Jessie risk everything to solve the riddle and confront the threat--before it’s too late.

I hope you’ll watch for THE ULTIMATE BETRAYAL and that you enjoy it.  Until next time, all best wishes and happy reading, Kat

 

Meet the Author:

Bestselling author Kat Martin, a graduate of the University of California at Santa Barbara, currently resides in Missoula, Montana with Western-author husband, L. J. Martin. More than seventeen million copies of Kat’s books are in print, and she has been published in twenty foreign countries. Fifteen of her recent novels have taken top-ten spots on the New York Times Bestseller List, and her novel, BEYOND REASON, was recently optioned for a feature film. Kat’s latest novel, THE ULTIMATE BETRAYAL, a Romantic Thriller, was released in paperback December 29th.

connect with the author:  website ~ twitter ~ facebook ~ instagram ~ goodreads
 
Tour Schedule:

Jan 6 – Working Mommy Journal – book spotlight / giveaway
Jan 6 - BookishKelly2020 – book spotlight
Jan 8 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book spotlight / giveaway
Jan 11 – Books Lattes & Tiaras – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Jan 12 – Sadie's Spotlight – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Jan 13 – FUONLYKNEW – book spotlight / giveaway
Jan 13 - Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway
Jan 14 – Stephanie Jane – book spotlight / giveaway
Jan 15 – Christa Reads and Writes – books spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Jan 15 - Locks, Hooks and Books – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway
Jan 19 – Splashes of Joy – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway
Jan 20 –The Obsessed Reader - book spotlight / guest post / giveaway
Jan 21 – Jazzy Book Reviews - book spotlight / guest post / giveaway
Jan 25 – 100 Pages A Day – book spotlight / giveaway
Jan 26 – I'm All About Books – book spotlight / giveaway

 Enter the Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 


 

Read more...